Having trouble viewing this email? Click here to view it as a web page

​Dear all:  

Please note that the deadline for submission of an abstract for the 2016 ASCL Annual Meeting YCC Panel Call for Papers has been extended until July 1, 2016, but is nonetheless quickly approaching! Please note also that presenters whose costs of attending the Annual Meeting are not otherwise reimbursed through ASCL will receive a $500 stipend to enable them to attend. 
We welcome your submissions and look forward to a great panel in October!

Virginia Harper Ho, YCC Vice-Chair 

American Society of Comparative Law
--Younger Comparativists Committee
2016 ASCL ANNUAL MEETING Call for Papers
EXTENDED DEADLINE: July 1, 2016, at 5:00 pm CDT

The Younger Comparativists Committee (YCC) of the American Society of Comparative Law (ASCL) is pleased to invite submissions to fill a panel on “New Perspectives in Comparative Law,” to be held at the Society’s 2016 Annual Meeting ASCL Annual Meeting, which will be held October 28-29, 2016 at the University of Washington in Seattle.  The purpose of the panel is to highlight the scholarship of new and younger comparativists.  The younger scholars who are selected for the panel will each be paired with a senior discussant in their field who will provide comments and suggestions on their papers.
Submissions will be accepted on any subject of public or private comparative law from scholars who have been engaged as law teachers for ten years or fewer as of July 1, 2016.  Only scholars who are affiliated with ASCL-member institutions are eligible to participate on the panel. 
The Scholarship Advisory Group of the YCC will review submissions with the authors’ identities concealed. Up to two submissions will be chosen for the panel. Submissions will not be accepted from scholars whose work has been featured in a prior younger scholars' panel at the ASCL Annual Meeting.  Those selected will receive a $500 stipend toward reimbursement of the costs of attending the ASCL Annual Meeting.
To submit an entry, scholars should email an abstract of 1000-1500 words (including footnotes) no later than Friday, July 1, 2016, at 5:00 pm CDT to Yolanda Huggins at the following address: ylhuggins@ku.eduPlease indicate “ASCL Annual Meeting Submission” in the subject line.  Late submissions will not be accepted.  Abstracts should reflect original research that will not yet have been published by the time of the Society’s Annual Meeting.  The abstract should be accompanied by a separate cover sheet indicating the author’s name, title of the paper, institutional affiliation, contact information, and a statement confirming that the author (or at least one of the authors, if co-authored) has been engaged as a law teacher for ten years or less as of July 1, 2016 and is affiliated with an ASCL member institution.  The abstract itself must not contain any references that identify the author or the author’s institutional affiliation.
Scholarship Advisory Group:
David Landau, Professor of Law, Florida State University, Chair
Shawn Boyne, Professor of Law, Indiana University McKinney School of Law
Christopher Bruner, Professor of Law, Washington & Lee University
Neha Jain, Associate Professor of Law, University of Minnesota
Aparna Polavarapu, Assistant Professor of Law, University of South Carolina
YCC Board:
Afra Afsharipour, Professor of Law, University of California – Davis, Treasurer
Virginia Harper Ho, Professor, University of Kansas, Vice Chair & Secretary
David Landau, Professor of Law, Florida State University
Sally Richardson, Associate Professor, Tulane University
Ozan Varol, Associate Professor, Lewis & Clark, Chair

ASCL Younger Comparativists Committee
1535 W. 15th St.
Lawrence, KS 66049
Add us to your address book

You may  unsubscribe  if you prefer not to receive future emails from us | Privacy Policy

Powered By MemberPlanet